CHARTREUSE

Chartreuse by mystupidsketchbook
Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
“Hello! We are a four piece band from Birmingham, UK, consisting of three guys and a girl, two brothers and friends. Rory and I (Michael) have been playing together from a young age but Chartreuse started out as Harriet and I writing mainly folk and acoustic music together and then progressed into what we are today. ”

WHAT is the inspiration behind their songs?
“Lyrically the songs are written about my own personal experiences that I project onto characters I’ve created. Who they are, where they are from and their emotions usually influence the tone and feel of the music.”

WHERE did they grow up?
“Rory and I grew up just outside of Birmingham in a place called Olbury and Harriet and Perry are from a village called Kinver about half an hour away from us. I can’t say the places we grew up have directly influenced Chartreuse as a band however I think there’s some good bands coming out of Birmingham at the moment and hopefully it’ll continue to grow. ”

Chartreuse by Andy Hughes
Photo: Andy Hughes

WHY are they called Chartreuse?
“We chose Chartreuse for a few different reasons, we read about it a while back and discovered that it was a potion made by the monks of the Chartreuse mountains in France, it was thought to be an elixir of long life which we found quite interesting so that’s the main reason we chose it.”

WHEN can I see them live?
“We have a few shows booked in June, we’re playing at Lunar festival on the 3rd, Bushstock festival for Communion on the 18th and Wolfson’s 50th Anniversary Ball at Oxford Uni also for Communion on the 25th.”

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen: Soundcloud
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

1 Comment

Leave a comment