SAM JORDAN & THE DEAD BUOYS

sam jordan by mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I am Sam Jordan. I have sung since I can remember, to my sister’s friends as a kid, to my mates at school, to the wind when I’m lonely haha. I picked up a guitar at 15 and started writing songs. Between then and now, I trained at a contemporary/ballet dance school and now work as a builder. I play and write because it is the thing that comes most naturally to me other than eating steaks or bacon or vegan food haha”.

His band The Dead Buoys are Ez Stone (Electric Guitar and Backing Vocals), Asher Nwokedi (Drums and Backing Vocals) and James Buckham (Hammond Organ).

On 6th May Sam Jordan & The Dead Buoys digitally release debut When Golden Morning Comes E.P. All songs were tracked, mixed and mastered live using solely analogue equipment at Toe Rag Studios (The White Stripes, Madness and The Wytches) and will be released on Sam Jordan’s label Dead Good Records and published by Cooking Vinyl Publishing.

WHAT is he singing about?
“I am singing about truth and lies. I try to write to the song-writing tradition before me. Themes that are passed down and recycled through the ages. I am singing ‘cos of Leadbelly, Bob Dylan, John Jacob Niles, Tom Waits, people like that.”Sam Jordan_WHERE is he from?
I am from Brighton. The music scene is good here in that there are plenty of opportunities to play. Busking, Small Shows, Big Shows. Too much really. They need a cull of the musicians really haha.

WHY should I listen to him?
His expressiveness and ability to connect, his vocals full of energy and confidence show genuine intent to transport you right to the heart of his songs.

WHEN can I see him live?
Sam Jordan & The Dead Buoys play The Joker in Brighton on 6 May and The Islington in London on 16 June.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Spotify // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

