TWIN RIVER

twin-river-by-mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
“We are Courtney Ewan and Andy Bishop. We’ve been playing together for almost six years after meeting in a restaurant in Vancouver, Canada. Though we started out as folk duo, we’ve spent the past few years adding band members and decibels to the band.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind their songs?
“I (Courtney) find a lot of inspiration in poetry. My favourite poets are Anne Carson and Pablo Neruda, who both had a big impact on the lyrics in this last record. I like to think of songwriting as storytelling, and I love a good story. Sometimes it’s autobiographical, sometimes it’s fantasy – I like keeping the line a little bit blurry.”

WHERE did they grow up?
“Andy and I both grew up in British Columbia, and both currently live in Vancouver. The music scene is great – it’s tight knit and very supportive. I get a lot of inspiration from living so close to the ocean. I think we definitely sound like a West Coast band – a little less sunny than California, maybe, but West Coast just the same.”

Twin River.jpg

WHY are they called Twin River?
“The “Twin” part of our band name came from our time playing as a duo, and I think “River” is in homage to the scenery in and around Vancouver. There is no shortage of water – the ocean, rivers, lakes, and tons (TONS!) of rain.”

WHEN can I see them live?
“We are really hoping to visit over the next year! It will be our first trip over and we are dying to come!”

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Spotify
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter

logo

Leave a comment