CHAZ THOROGOOD

Chaz Thorogood by mystupidscketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Chaz is a folk singer/songwriter floating around England on a Canal boat who “started writing music at the age of twelve when I moved to live with my Dad in Devon. It allowed me to get things off my chest and document my life.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“I’m singing about experiences, relationships and things that I just need to get out there. I’m heavily inspired by some of the old singer/songwriters like Nick Drake and John Martyn, but I get the same buzz listening to Bonobo, Floating Points and some of the new Radiohead stuff. Lyrically I think Damien Rice is the man. He inspired me to tell stories and to be as honest as possible.”

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Devon, about a mile from the sea. As a teenager, I spent a lot of time walking and became totally enamored with the beauty of the place. It definitely inspired me, and without fail I always write something when I visit. At the moment, I’m living on a houseboat in London and that’s pretty great too. I have to move every two weeks, which means I’m never bored. I find it really refreshing to look out my bedroom window and always see something different.”

“The music scene in London caters for absolutely everything and anyone and can at times feel overwhelming, but if you look in the right place, you can find some total magic. I love that the quality of music being played is high. I learn a lot from watching other musicians.”

Chaz Thorogood

WHY the title Limbo for his upcoming EP?
“At the time of writing this EP, I was at somewhat of a crossroads in my life. I had lots of roads open, whilst others had shut. I had so many decisions to make and basically ignored all of them, leaving me in a constant state of, you guessed it, Limbo.”

WHEN can I listen to Limbo?
Limbo is out on Beatnik Creative on 19th May 2017. Chaz has collaborated on the EP with Judie Tzuke as well as Tim Thorton from Fink.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen: Spotify // Soundcloud
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Listen to Pictures from Thorogood’s upcoming EP Limbo (Beatnik Creative – 19th May 2017)

logo

Leave a Reply

