DARK DARK HORSE

Dark Dark Horse by mystupidsketchbook
Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
“We are Dark Dark Horse, I am Jamie Ward (producer/multi-instrumentalist). Our various musical backgrounds are perhaps a little too diverse to go into detail with but personally I’ve played in several bands most notably Maybeshwill and Kyte who have been lucky enough to tour internationally and do all sorts of wild things my 16 year old self could have never imagined. I started playing music with James Stafford (vocals) after he recorded his old band kids in cars in my studio and I couldn’t resist sending some songs I’d been working on myself.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind their songs?
Jamie: “I’ll pass this one over to James who sings and writes all the lyrics.”

James: “Well, our debut album Centuries was more or less about the past, both on a personal introspective level and on a wider sociological level. With our new EP Luna II, as the title suggests, is more or less about the future, where we can imagine ourselves heading.

Musically, as Jamie composes the music, I can only really take that as inspiration. His choice of chords and melody, along with the electronic nature of his writing, provides a futuristic approach. With the political landscapes cracking and shifting before our eyes, the lyrics are a mixture of hope and progression, but also suggest a want for escape, to jettison ourselves into the unknown. But really it’s down to the individual listener to determine what the lyrics mean to themselves, as I don’t like to push anyone down a path – I’ve always developed my own meaning from my favourite songs I’ve heard growing up.”

Dark Dark Horse.jpg

WHERE are they from?
Jamie: “We all grew up around Leicester. Leicester is a place you could describe as just in the middle a bit I suppose. It’s slightly detached from the music industry and that perhaps doesn’t develop a high level of aspiration amongst musicians but I also think it encourages people to think more creatively and produce music that’s a little more out of left field. There are a lot of cottage industry artists in Leicester producing a really diverse range of interesting music which I suppose is perhaps a bit of a microcosm of the city.”

WHY are they called Dark Dark Horse?
Jamie: “Dark Dark Horse is my first band as a composer. In casual conversation with a friend while watching our now keyboard players ex band I picked the sentence out of air and it’s stuck with me since then. I had always been a bit player in bands before so stepping into a lead role felt quite big nerve wracking step. Putting yourself out there in such a saturated world still does in some ways and the name still feels appropriate.”

WHEN can I see them live?
Catch the band play Handmade Festival in Leicester on April 30th .

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen & Watch: Spotify // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter

logo

Leave a Reply

