DAUNT

DAUNT by mystupidscketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I’m just a guy who likes to make music. I’ve been in bands since I was a teenager, and after the last band I was in finished up I started to write and arrange songs by myself. Those songs were the beginnings of DAUNT, and some of them ended up on the EP.” Will Daunt’s debut EP Unbearable Light is out April 28th via London label Beatnik Creative.

WHAT is he singing about?
“I guess I sing about fear of uncertainty, how liberating it is to accept that you’re a little broken just like everyone else, and how relationships are both the most beautiful and the most difficult thing we all do.”

WHERE did he grow up?
DAUNT is now based in London but he “grew up on a farm in the middle of nowhere, so had zero ‘scene’ as a kid. When I was a teenager a wave of US mainstream hip hop hit the UK (Eminem, Dre, Snoop), and like all slightly angsty teenagers I was swept away by how strong their identity was. I suppose a lingering influence from that time would be how much I love a good swung beat. After that, I fell in with some musicians at school, who became my closest friends and who I went on to form many bands with, and they provided a varied palette of influences. Our keyboardist and guitarist were very into Brian Eno, Neu, Can, so I learnt about atmosphere and groove from them.

DAUNT

WHY should I listen to new single Unbearable Light?
In Unbearable Light DAUNT takes you straight to the heart of the story through vivid pictures and his narrative-driven songwriting. Of writing the track Will says: “it was clear that the song was really visual, taking cues from night-driving and classic Hollywood road movies. In short, our central character is driving away from an undefined event or relationship which has revealed some aspects of himself that he’d rather not have seen, as though an ‘unbearable light’ has been cast on him.”



WHEN can I see him live?
Catch him live at the Unbearable Light EP Launch Show at The Waiting Room in London on April 26h. Event and tickets.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen: Spotify // Soundcloud
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

