HINDÜ

HINDÜ by mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is she?
Hindü is producer-songwriter Tania Iankovska’s solo project. “I think I always knew I would end up as a solo artist” she explains “but for a very, very long time I didn’t believe I was able to. I started by playing in a garage rock band – I thought that would be extra cool – me with a guitar. After some time I’ve got tired of constantly motivating other band members and also we changed drummers like every two months which wasn’t very inspiring. So I finally figured out how to use [music production software] Ableton Live and put together my first EP in just two weeks or so. Very fast – just because I was so excited I was able to write drum parts by myself!”

WHAT is the inspiration behind her songs?
“Lyrics are always the last part I do when writing a song. I know what each song is about, what kind of mood it has from the start but I usually postpone writing down the final rhymes till I have a deadline and need to actually record the vocals. In any case, I try to keep my songs within a lightweight melancholic-optimistic mood – like a late Spring Sunday sunset. This is the kind of picture I have in my head when writing songs most of the times.”

WHERE did she grow up?
“I grew up in Kiev, Ukraine. Right now it is a very lovely and vibrant city with lots of things going on and cool places to visit. But ten years ago Kiev was just a post-soviet capital with not much to do. So most of my teen years were spent just hanging out with friends either on the roofs of typical soviet-style apartment blocks or by the river (we have a huge one dividing Kiev into two parts) or in rehearsal rooms. I think I lived a lot of things just inside my head and in my thoughts, that was probably the reason I started writing songs very early.”

“In the last two, three years we’re experiencing a huge boost on the local music scene – suddenly lots of young artists started to sound interesting and professional, playing big venues and releasing really decent records. I think people just need a getaway from very drastic and dramatic things happening in Ukraine after 2014’s revolution. Still, only a few musicians can make a living solely with music but I think this ain’t just a local trend. Kiev’s club scene is also blooming – in some ways I think it can compete even with Berlin’s.”

HINDÜ

WHY is she called HINDÜ?
“I wanted something that would mislead people at first; a name that wouldn’t allow them to figure out right away whether it is a band, a male singer from India or… Do you know what I mean? I wanted people to be confused and interested from the very beginning.”

WHEN can I see her live?
“I’m definitely coming back to the UK this Spring and will do one or two summer festivals but I don’t have exact dates yet – still working on a concert schedule for 2017.” Keep updated here.

HOW can I get to know her better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

