FREDDIE DICKSON

freddie-dickson-by-mystupidscketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“Hi. I’m Freddie Dickson who sings sad and (hopefully) catchy songs. I didn’t start singing until I was about eighteen. I’d written a bunch of songs but didn’t want anyone else to sing them and I got a little 4-track for my birthday with a built in microphone and just taught myself to sing through that.” His debut album Panic Town is released on 7 April 2017 via Shakey Records.

WHAT is he singing about?
“I sing and write about anything that affects me whether it be about people or certain situations in my life that I feel warrant a kind of cathartic release.”

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up all around West London when I was younger and then I moved East and now I live North. I’d say there was a strong music scene in Shepherd’s Bush that I kind of dived into playing every open mic I could get my teenage hands on.”

“I guess the state of London ever changing has influenced a lot of my newer songs actually. It’s definitely becoming a lot harder to be a musician in London these days with trying to match inflated rent prices and write at the same time. Also the closure of so many venues is becoming increasingly worrying for London’s live music scene.

freddie-dickson_hayley-coleman
Photo: Hayley Coleman

WHY the title Panic Town?
“Ha so many reasons. The record includes a lot of songs about different mental states like nostalgia, heartbreak, longing etc and Panic Town is supposed to be symbolic of that place that you can’t let yourself fall into psychologically otherwise you’re going to struggle to get out of there. Cheery stuff I know but I’m very pleased with it. It’s taken me long enough!

WHEN can I see him live?
“Well I’m still in rehearsals with my band getting ready for a big album launch party in my local pub The Finsbury, London on 11th April. I’ve got a bunch of solo gigs in Germany coming up as well.” All live dates here.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

