GRIFF LYNCH

griff-lynch-by-mystupidscketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Griff Lynch is founding member, guitarist and frontman of Welsh-language psych pop band Yr Ods (‘The Odds’). Recently Griff has been working on solo material and releases his new single Don’t Count On Me on 10 February via Welsh independent label I KA CHING.

“Most of what I know about songwriting, I’ve learned through my band Yr Ods” says Griff. “We formed in college and carried on from there. We’ve sung nearly exclusively through the medium of Welsh, as it’s our first language, and I can express my self better lyrically. We gained a solid following within Wales, but through BBC Radio 1 and 6 music coverage, along with playing such festivals as Glastonbury, we got exposure UK wide. We whirled through the cliches, on a minority language scale, released 2 highly acclaimed albums, a bunch of EPs, toured Europe, had a ‘Berlin Phase’, before climaxing with a performance of our back catalogue with a 40 piece orchestra, to a huge crowd at the National Eisteddfod last summer. This is my first attempt at ‘doing the solo thing’…”

WHAT is he singing about?
“Deaths, breakups, apathy and trail of thoughts.”

griff-lynch

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Bangor, North Wales, at the foothills of Snowdonia. Living in Wales has more than shaped me, it’s probably defined me. I don’t always like to admit that but it’s true. Listening to Welsh bands like Gorkeys Zygotic Mynci, Super Furry Animals singing in Welsh, but making it on the big stage would be an inspiration to most young budding artists who were from a Welsh home.

“There’s a vibrant music scene in Cardiff where I live now. It’s pretty cool with a lot of psychedelic rock bands, folk and electronic. It all tends to climax each year during Swn festival. Usually the ‘scene’ you’re part of is down to your genre of music. But in Wales, singing the language is a ‘scene’ in itself, therefore it puts it on quite a unique and diverse musical landscape I guess.”

WHY should I listen to him?
Lynch’s unconventional approach to songwriting seems to create joyful electro-pop sounds, but if you listen closely you will discover the darkness and misery hidden in there.

WHEN can I see him live?
“No gigs booked as of yet.” Keep updated here.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

