LUMER

lumer-by-mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
LUMER are Benjamin Jackson (guitar), Alex Evans (bass, vocals), Jacob Wardle (drums) and Thom Foster (synth, guitar). “We started in Hull, when we were all at college and Thom joined later” recalls Alex. “We all played different things and ended up trying different instruments and we thought it sounded great. We sort of learned our instruments as we were going along and everything just seem to click.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind their songs?
“I write predominately about personal issues, I find them the easiest things to write about. I wrote Futile about tough times I was having when I was writing for the band. I was struggling with a lot of problems with relationships and depression at the time and for me, writing and the band in general was a way to escape.”

WHERE did they grow up?
“We all grew up around the Hull/Beverley area (UK) and I was the only one in the band who hasn’t known the others for over 6 years. I think the closeness and our surroundings helped shape the band. Where we grew up was quite small and meant you didn’t have much to do. It was rather play a sport or start a band. I didn’t seem to be great at either until the band really. We have been very lucky so far and it helped that the music scene is really tight and friendly, there are very few people that are negative and that makes it incredibly easy as a young band, to succeed. The scene was a great inspiration for my recent love of heavier music. Bands like Vulgarians influence us heavily. Everyone supports each other and it’s got a lot to offer.”

lumer

WHY are they called LUMER?
Jake listens to too much My Bloody Valentine…”

WHEN can I see them live?
“We are playing a few shows in February, got a big show with Pizza for the people in Leeds which we are buzzing for. We are also hoping to be doing a tour in March. So far it is yet to be announced but I’m really excited for what the future brings in terms of gigs. We are also playing a live session on the BBC which I’m shitting it for to be honest. It’s gonna be really good to do a live video, and I suppose it’s something my mum can tell her friends about.” You can watch the session here.

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

