MICKY

micky-by-mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“Just a 23 year old guy living in New York City. I grew up listening to Elvis, Otis Redding, The Beach Boys, Marvin Gaye, Franki Vallie and The Four Seasons, and a bunch of other Pop, Rock, and Soul acts from the 50’s, 60’s, and 70’s. My parents would play a pretty wide range of music from those decades all the time so it influenced what I liked and what I created as I started making my own music. I played piano as a kid and began writing my own songs and taught myself guitar in high school.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind his songs?
“Most of my songs come from experience – my own, those of people I know, etc…Just makes the songs relatable and more accessible. I don’t really like music that’s too obscure or abstract lyrically. I like when it’s direct and honest and I can really feel or relate to whatever it’s about. That’s how I try to write my own stuff.”

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Monterey, California. I traveled a bunch as a kid with my parents around the world for their jobs as event planners, so I got to see a lot of different cultures which probably shaped my perspective a bit when it came to the type of music I wanted to create. Finding common themes everyone deals with and focusing on those to reach as many ears as possible pretty much. We lived in a Bed & Breakfast for a while too, so having strangers come in and out all the time, hearing their stories helped me become a people person and understand the common things everyone goes through.”

MICKY.jpg

WHY the name MICKY?
“Had the idea a while back when I used to play open mics every night and people would have trouble sometimes spelling or pronouncing (my surname) Persall. My family has called me MICKY my whole life and I finally just went for it.”

WHEN can I see him live?
“I’m playing every Wednesday in January with Sofar Sounds in NYC, and every Saturday in February at Rockwood Music Hall (stage 1) at 10pm.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

 

Leave a Reply

