ATTU

attu-by-mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is Stefan Antoinette and I play under the name ATTU. I grew up playing various instruments (badly) before becoming slightly obsessed with the guitar and effects pedals at the age of 14. I started really getting into playing when I saw Bloc Party perform Helicopter on Jools Holland, it blew my 14 year old mind when they started making these crazy sounds from a guitar and I became obsessed with guitars/delays/reverbs.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“Most of the time I’m singing about personal experiences, usually to do with interactions between people or how an event has affected the people involved. I’m always interested in weird sounds too so I often find myself thinking about a new production technique, I generally leave weirder techniques to electronic music though and try and focus on getting a good song written with the ATTU stuff. It’s also really hard (sometimes just not possible) to pull off the strange production techniques live.”

WHERE did he grow up?
“I’ve lived in North London my whole life. I’m not sure it’s shaped my music taste but it’s definitely shaped the way I make music, I’ve been lucky enough to grow up in an area with a lot of very talented musicians and producers, you learn so much from each other, a lot of things you’d never think to do on your own. Also London has so many venues and a lot of great artists so it’s a great place to be both as a musician and as a music listener.”

attu-by-imogen-spicer
Photo: Imogen Spicer

WHY the name ATTU?
“I used to play in a band called Delta/Alaska and ATTU started off as a side project to Delta/Alaska. There is an island off the coast of Alaska called Attu, so the name represented what the project was, a branch off that was still close to the main source.”

WHEN can I see him live?
“We have no more shows booked for 2016 at the moment but you’ll be able to catch us in early 2017, all of the details will be on our social media pages.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Staying Together is released December 9th.

logo

Leave a Reply

