RICHIE ASHWIN

Richie Ashwin by mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is Richie, middle name is Ashwin, hence Richie Ashwin. I’ve been producing music since I was 16, songwriting from 13 however they weren’t the best songs I had written, but it all kicked off around that age.”

“Since 2007 I taught myself how to play the Piano, however that was on and off as I was at University. I wouldn’t say I am a pro, nothing near the type, but I practise when I can but I’m always on the keys when I’m producing music.”

“It was always difficult from an early age as I wasn’t allowed to take Music as a subject in school. The teacher said because I wasn’t good at Maths or English I wouldn’t ever be a musician.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind his songs?
“Mainly I write about Love, heart breaks, distance, etc, but recently I had just wrote a song about my Mum, that should be released sometime this year. I am taking a slight turn from Love, writing more about Life, my life to be exact however I am a story teller, I like to see situations and write about them.”

“Musically I have always wanted to create something calm but has an edge to it. I have an addiction to long reverb sounds and dragging echoes, I tend to mess around a lot with sounds and place drums either left or right of the track. You’ll always hear slight percussions making their own rhythm if you listen closely. ”

Richie Ashwin

WHERE did he grow up?
“I am from Surrey, the South East of the United Kingdom. You will always hear the same from every artist, I am influenced by all types of music, I’m 31 so I have heard a lot in my time.”

“The music scene around me doesn’t have a buzz, particularly in the genre I’m in but if you were to go 40 minutes either way of me, London or Brighton, then be sure to hear something new!”

WHY should I listen to him?
The electronic sounds Richie produces fuse perfectly with his voice and create an ethereal soundscape to get lost into.

WHEN can I see him live?
“Sadly due to work and money I find it difficult to gig, this was decided a few years ago. Though it is something I still want to do, being a solo artist and the way my music shapes out on tracks it is slightly difficult to find other band members to relay what I have created for a live environment, plus the time.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen: Soundcloud // Bandcamp
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

