RICHARD WALTERS

Richard Walters by mystupidsketchbook

Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is Richard Stephen Walters. I’ve been making music for about 2/3 of my life. I started playing guitar at the back and eventually got to singing at front, or slightly to the side. I make music on my own and with Patrick Pearson (San Felu) in Liu Bei on occasion.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“Love, life, dead film stars and books. I write everyday, so things that happen get sung about. I like a sad song in particular but I’m a happy man.”

A.M, the title track from his upcoming fourth solo album, due mid-July 2016, looks at a relationship in a brief period of time, as Walters explains: “I’m a pretty anxious person…my brain seems to dedicate itself, in the first few moments of the day when I’m (mentally but not physically) alone, to causing me huge concern – bills I need to pay, work I need to finish, places I need to be, I guess it’s the same for a lot of people…the lyric is about that very short period of time, like an airlock between sleep and the day, when I’m without the person that keeps me grounded the most.”

I can’t wait any longer, I can’t bear any more
I was drained by the morning, by the wolves at the door
But you’ll stir in a moment and my world will align
I know every piece of you

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Oxford – which was an incredible musical education – and then lived in Brighton, Paris and London. Environment is key to songwriting, I’ve got to feel steady in a place to get things flowing creatively. We just moved to a small town outside London…no music scene here. But lots of space and quiet, which is all I need right now. That and a piano.”

Richard WaltersPhoto Credit: Dmitry Serostanov

WHY should I listen to him?
His music is evocative and cinematic. Richard has the ability to take you along on his personal and artistic journey.

WHEN can I see him live?
Richard is playing in Manchester on April 20th at The Castle Hotel, and on April 22nd at The Louisiana in Bristol.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Website // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

