ROB GODFREY

Rob Godfrey by mystupidsketchbook

Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I’m Rob Godfrey, a 21 year-old singer-songwriter born in Cambridge, currently situated in Brighton. I grew up in a very musical family, my parents are classical musicians and my sister is a multi-instrumentalist. Aged 7 I learnt both the Piano and Double Bass, before converting to Bass Guitar and eventually Guitar. I grew up listening to a lot of Classical, Jazz and World music as kid. Nowadays, I listen to pretty much anything and everything, though my favourite artist would have to be Folk hero, John Martyn.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“My songs would be best summed up as dark love songs. Most of my songs are truthfully cynical and bitter reflections upon previous mishaps within relationships. I also write songs from different stances, for instance Quarterman and I Deserved Better are both about the same relationship ending. However, I Deserved Better is from a selfish viewpoint in which I try to pawn the blame off on to the other party, whereas Quarterman is a reflection in which I admit my faults. It’s hard to pin-point what it is that inspires, it’s usually when I’m reflecting upon an event that has past and I can look at it with a clearer mind.”

Rob Godfrey

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Cambridge before moving to Brighton. Cambridge offered great opportunities for young musicians, such as The Junction Fiver, ran by Gary Brown, which allowed musicians as young as 14/15 to play in front of a large audience, which greatly motivates a lot of young musicians in the area.”

WHY should I listen to him?
We fell in love with the warm tone of his voice and his simple and pure songwriting style.

WHEN can I see him live?
Rob’s next gig is in London at The Bedford on 25th February.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Spotify
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

