WESTERMAN

Westerman mystupidsketchbook

Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Will Westerman is a London based singer-songwriter. He has recently released his debut single Harvard and here he tells us what got him into music. “I sang classically when I was younger and have always been quite musical, but I think it was when I got my first guitar at 15 that it clicked. Just being able to play the sort of music I was listening to was really alluring and I started trying to come up with little bits and pieces as soon as I could string a couple of chords together. My grounding is sort of older music really, Neil Young and Leonard Cohen, Nick Drake and stuff like that. I like all sorts of music though, I think it’s important to keep your ears open as there’s connections to be made everywhere.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“I think the joy of songwriting is messing about with different musical principles and inspiration. Most of the best stuff comes serendipitously like that. I’ve always liked stories and allegory. I think there’s a lot of value in exploring concepts we all share through recognised symbols. That was kind of the theme for this EP. The stuff I’m working on now is possibly less narrative based and more fitting words to the melody as opposed to the other way round. But as long as it’s true, and you believe it, that’s what really comes across I think.”

Westerman
Photo: Bex Day

WHERE did he get inspiration for his EP from?
“I wrote most of the Harvard EP in Tuscany, it’s a beautifully tranquil and pure environment – a wonderful place to think. I’m not sure if that comes across in the music or not though. But London is my home, and it’s one of the best places in the world to be doing what I’m doing so I’m really lucky to have a base here. There really is something for everyone and it’s just about finding the right sort of promoters who you trust and have an interest in the music they’re putting on. I have a few friends who are doing pretty well at the moment so it’s definitely a fun time to be doing it.”

WHY should I listen to him?
More often than not the intriguing simplicity of a single voice is all you need to grab attention. Westerman accomplishes that with his warm, hypnotic vocals.

WHEN can I see him live?
“I’ve actually been in the midst of a re-jig as far as the live set up is concerned, so I’m not really taking anything at the moment. However, now the tracks are starting to appear online there will be nowhere to hide so I expect to be out on the road again in the next couple of months. Watch this space!”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

