STOCKLEY

Stockley by mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
“Hello there, I’m Curtis from Stockley. We all have had extremely varied backgrounds in music, from orchestras, jazz ensembles and choirs to hardcore, metal and punk bands. After finishing school in 2009 I spent a year living in the UK and as that time drew to a close I realised how passionate I was about playing music and sharing my songs with my friends and family. Amazingly, my friends and family happened to be fantastic musicians and songwriters in their own right. A few of us began playing under a different name in 2011 but Stockley was finally cemented as the six of us in 2015.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind their songs?
“Since half of the band are actually related (my older bro Cam and younger sis Jenn) most of the lyrics come from a familial, nostalgic and relational place. I love thinking about how childhood and adolescence shapes us as adults, and the strong bonds you form with others, who aren’t related by blood but you are certain that they are part of your family (yes, this includes my other beautiful faux brothers in the band, Dave, Rhys and Al).”

“Our musical inspiration is probably the biggest divider in Stockley, but I love the effect this has. I have been listening to a lot of Ryan Adams, The Paper Kites, and Father John Misty recently whilst who knows what the others have been listening to! Cam and Dave as our electric guitarists have a great love for post-rock which translates well to the type of music we’ve been making.”

Stockley

Our debut single Fishing Trip is a personal song, one which I wrote and almost immediately threw out because of its vulnerability. On one hand it’s full of sorrow reflecting on the affect that losing someone has on you even if you haven’t met them. On the other hand it’s full of hope, because even though I never met this particular person, I have learnt more about him and am confident we would have been mates. Fishing Trip is most simply and purely about family.

WHERE did they grow up?
“Myself, my siblings and Dave all grew up on the south coast of New South Wales in Australia. We’re all now Sydney based with Rhys our bassist still hanging out at the beach in Wollongong soaking up the rays while we soak in the city fumes like chums.”

“I mentioned how much family has an influence on my songwriting and so for me, family and hometowns go hand in hand. Swimming in the ocean, riding everywhere, playing knock-and-run, these were some pretty fantastic, stress-free days that I remember fondly. In a way I’d like people to hear Stockley and get them to remember some of these chilled out times, when there weren’t any bills and your biggest problem was deciding whether you’d like to have your birthday party at the skating rink or the bowling alley.”

“Now that we’re in Sydney life is a bit different, but the music scene is a bit more raring to go than our hometown of 30 odd thousand people. It would be easy to get bogged down in how limited the Australian market is, or how touring is just sooo expensive but at the end of the day we love playing music together. And there are some brilliant bands hitting the stages across Sydney with so much variety. It is a challenging time but still very exciting. ”

WHY are they called ‘Stockley’?
“Stockley is a family name, it’s my second middle name that my siblings also have. It’s been passed down for about three or four generations and as soon as it was mentioned it felt ruin and suited our vibe. I love my bandmates and feel as though when you create music together it really makes amazing bonds. Like a family, we disagree, fight, and make up with hugs all round. So, despite the family name being literal for only three of us, it really is appropriate for all six.”

WHEN can I see them live?
“We’ll be recording some new material in January so hopefully we’ll be able to spend some time on the road. Stay peeled for some shows were lining up in Sydney and Wollongong around February/March 2016.”

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Spotify //Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Watch the video for debut single Fishing Trip

Available on iTunes

logo

Leave a Reply

