AXEL FLÓVENT

Axel Flóvent mystupidsketchbookArtwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Axel Flóvent is an indie folk musician signed to Trellis Records who started playing music when he got his first guitar for Christmas at the age of 9. “I guess music has always been around me because my parents are very musical, my father collects guitars and loves to play old blues tunes and my mother is really into music, and she even played a bit on drums back in the day as well, but yeah, I kinda started writing nonsense music as soon as I got my first musical instrument.”

WHAT is the inspiration behind his songs?
“Musically it’s almost always the instrument and the room and place I’m writing in. Lyrically it’s probably mostly people around me and all kinds of things.”

WHERE is he from?
Axel hails from Iceland. The music scene is really good here, where I currently live, in Reykjavík, but it wasn’t as good in my hometown, Húsavík, which is probably one of the main reasons I became a solo artist and evolved so far as a solo artist. I was always trying to form bands, with my buds back home when I was younger which never really worked, cause only few really wanted to make music or play instruments for that matter.Axel Flóvent Gunnar ÁsgeirssonPhoto: Gunnar Ásgeirsson

WHY should I listen to him?
His vocal harmonies are so delicate but entirely convincing. Listen with your eyes closed. It will sound even better than it already is.

WHEN can I see him live?
“We’re playing at Eurosonic Noorderslag in the Netherlands in January. And we have few festivals and other gigs booked that we can’t really announce yet, but soon!”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Spotify // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Tumblr

logo

Leave a Reply

