GEORGE COSBY

george cosby mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is George Cosby, a singer/songwriter from London. My music can range from the loud and powerful all the way to the intimacy of just a guitar and a voice. The aim was to try and create something like a film score that is all tied together but where each song has its own character. I have played and sung since I was young but this particular project only really got into full swing at the tail end of 2014 when I decided I really just wanted to try having a crack at writing something honest and that can hopefully be listened to and felt to be real.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“The subject matter and inspiration can be wide ranging but generally what it is about lyrically is always the starting place in my process and an area I get a lot of enjoyment from. Once I have the idea of the song I try and capture the mood musically and in the performance. The latest batch of tracks I have put out revolve around relationships both from personal experience and conceptual viewpoint. I think they are probably a little bittersweet but to me they tell a story which I am proud of.”

WHERE is he from?
I ended up in London via Brighton, where I grew up, and Manchester where I studied for a few years. London is a fantastic city for music and the arts in general so there is lots to be inspired by. Almost any night you want to see a show there will be one which makes for a fun time. I have met so many talented people of all sorts here and that really helps to try and always push your creativity and develop what you are doing.

george cosbyWHY should I listen to him?
For his ability to mesmerize through a deep, rich vocal range and dark, powerful aesthetics.

WHEN can I see him live?
“Very soon in fact! I have a headline show at The Pickle Factory in London on the 24th of November. This is a full band show which is something I am looking forward to. I am working with a bunch of talented friends to put on a small art exhibition at the beginning of the night so fingers crossed it will be a bit of a one off evening.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen: Soundcloud // Spotify
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Watch George Cosby perform Vacant Grace for Burberry Acoustic

His debut EP Human Touch is out now | iTunesSpotify

logo

Leave a Reply

