SHOR

SHOR mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is Chris Butcher, I’m a 20 year old independent artist from Sutton, Surrey. I’ve played piano from the age of 7 and loved it ever since, I first picked up a guitar about 5 years ago.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“It’s hard to explain what the inspiration is behind my music without going into very specific (boring) detail. For me I feel like songwriting is almost a form of therapy, a lot of the time I find that it helps me organise my thoughts, or helps me to work out why I’m in whatever mood I’m in (the songs reflect that). Then, letting ideas develop and songs change into completely different things from what they started out as is a very satisfying feeling. I won’t go into too much detail about what the inspiration behind the songs lyrically is, I’d like to think that different people will interpret different things from the lyrics, that’s exciting.”

WHERE did he grow up?
I grew up and still live in the same place, Sutton, Surrey (and feel that I still have a lot of growing to do). One thing that I feel has helped ‘shape me as an artist’ is studying music – obviously this isn’t essential to succeed in this industry, but studying music for the last couple of years has really opened my mind. I learnt how to produce my own music and get it to a point where ‘technically’ it doesn’t sound too bad (I hope), which means I can create a track without having to pay for ‘actual’ studio time(for now).

WHY the name ‘SHOR’?
“I’m not shor I’m allowed to tell you.”

WHEN can I see him live?
“This project is still in early stages, I’m about to start rehearsing with a small live band, and will be gigging within the next couple of weeks.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Bandcamp
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Listen to debut EP To Know out October 5th

logo

Leave a Reply

