TAMU MASSIF

Tamu Massif mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I’m Dave Dixon. I started playing guitar at 14. I think, to be wholly honest, I started playing because I hoped to become some sort of guitar-playing demi-God. It took me a long time to get half decent, though, and that’s sort of where I’m still at but, hey, there’s still time.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“It’s a real issue – people don’t understand what I’m saying. I mumble when I talk and that carries over into my songs. A few people have asked me what language I’m singing in in St Isidore. I don’t know why, it’s English guys. My brother told me I need to annunciate more in my stage chat too, specifically that I need to be more like Jools Holland. Thanks, bro.

I try not to limit myself in terms of where I draw inspiration from and it can be anything. Writing songs which are introspective and deal with personal experiences comes most naturally, but I’m constantly making notes of things I find interesting to put in songs – characters – fictional and non, film references, interesting turns of phrase, places, etc., etc. Sort of building up a big personal collage of experiences – real and imagined.

Music-wise, I listen to a real variety. I mostly grew up on more guitar-based stuff – rock, folk, indie, etc., and wrote songs as such but these days I listen to a lot of modern mainstream pop, which tends to be a beats-driven mix of Urban/Hip Hop/Dance. I love the guitar as an instrument but it feels like “guitar music” has been done to death and I wanted to do something a bit fresher. It’s fun to experiment with sounds from totally different genres: it’s cool when it comes off, sometimes it really really doesn’t.. but you gotta break a few eggs to make an omlette.”Tamu Massif WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in the same house in Weston-super-Mare I’ve lived in all my life (aside from my time at uni) though I’ve always spent a lot of my time in Bristol. The music scene in Bristol is great; Weston, not so. Weston’s a pretty backwaters town and it feels stuck in time in many ways. Growing up here I resented it for that but these days I kinda love all its peculiarities.

I studied languages at uni in London and lived abroad for a year in France and Italy. I spent a lot of my time making shitty bedroom recordings in all three places. Now when I listen to those songs, I’m taken back to that point in my life: how I was feeling, the taste, the smells, etc. That’s definitely true of songs I recorded in my different houses in London too. It’s sort of inevitable that the place you’re in (geographically and mentally) when recording/writing seeps into the songs themselves and I think that’s a really nice thing.”

WHY the name ‘Tamu Massif’?
“I came across the name Tamu Massif while browsing the internet late one night. It was a newly discovered now extinct volcano the size of the UK under the Pacific Ocean. I like it on a number of levels, not least because volcanos are rad.”

WHEN can I see him live?
“In the past two weeks I’ve played Bristol Harbour Festival, supported
C Duncan and played in Paris but I’m probably going to have a fairly quiet Summer focussing on recording the next EP. I’m quite excited to get back to it to be honest. I should be announcing some dates for September onwards in the not-too-distant-future though.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Spotify
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Watch Tamu Massif perform Pheromones in session for Sofar Malta

logo

Leave a Reply

