BABE HEAVEN

Babe Heaven by mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO are they?
West London band Babe Heaven are Nancy, Jamie and Milo.

“I started playing guitar at around 11 when I, in the most clichéd way, got really into Jimi Hendrix” Jamie tells us. “The first song I learnt was Sum 41 ‘Fat Lip’”.

“Nancy and I started playing music together about a year and half ago, I don’t really remember why, we were just friends and I think it just happened.”

WHAT are they singing about?
“Nancy sings about a variety of things really. Love and loss being the main two themes I think. I wouldn’t say I take that much inspiration from others, but John Frusciante probably has had the biggest impact on me as a musician, his melodic guitar lines in particular. Grimes is a bit of an inspiration from her ambiance, same with the reverbyness of The xx maybe. Lyrically I don’t think there is much inspiration from other places, just happens.”

Babe HeavenWHERE are they from?
“I grew up in Ladbroke Grove, West London. I think there is quite a good music scene here, a few of my friends’ bands are good, Two Bottle Jump and Watuzi both doing cool things”.

“I’m not sure how where we live has shaped us as a band, I think the way we make music is quite a shut off thing from what’s going around us, more about what’s going on inside then like having a big blues jam on the streets of West London.”

WHY ‘Babe Heaven’?
“Babe Heaven, was a joke that became real, one of the hardest things for bands is to think of a name, so we just panicked and choose that.”

WHEN can I see them live?
“We are playing Brainchild Festival on 11th July and I think Port Elliot Festival at the end of July, but apart from that nothing till about September in London.”

HOW can I get to know them better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Instagram

Watch the cool visuals for single Friday Sky

logo

Leave a Reply

