JACOB ALLEN//PUMA BLUE

Jacob Allen mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“My name is Jacob and I’m a songwriter, producer and singer. I started out as a drummer when I was the tender age of 7, worshipping everything Red Hot Chili Peppers did – both my parents play music and supported me in a big way. Then when I was about 12/13 I got into a bunch of solo artists and realised songwriting was my passion, so I taught myself guitar so I could follow that instead. I’m quite into production now too, I love the idea that music can be wavey and unpolished just from the way that you produce it.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“Usually about some form of pain, but everything I experience influences what I write about. I find music a beautiful outlet for expressing that. Sometimes I write poems and cut them up for songs, or sometimes the lyrics come from somewhere fully formed. Musically I listen to a lot, but some of the guys that really impact my stuff at the moment are Jeff Buckley, D’Angelo, Billie Holiday, Mac Demarco, Radiohead, Erykah Badu, John Frusciante’s early work and a lot of music from film actually. Big Tarantino fan. I love blending the dark side with the sexy. I’m big into jazz chords, J Dilla grooves and haunting melodies. I love androgyny in vocals. I feel like I’m a diva for saying that.”

Jacob Allen Casper Allison
Credit: Casper Allison

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in this lil place called Hurst Green and then my family moved to Redhill, both in Surrey sort of underneath Croydon – but I’m living in South East London these days. It feels like there’s an amazing movement going on here. So much sick hip hop and jazz, a lot of inspiration taken from grime and old soul, and a lot of my friends have a really honest shared perspective on songwriting. But at the same time, everyone I know that makes music is making really unique stuff. I think all that has had a huge influence on me musically – seeing these guys play the trickiest afrobeat/jazz stuff but with such a non-textbook way about it – how could you not be inspired to work harder at your own music? They make me feel bad for not spending hours on my instrument per day anymore haha. It’s the friendly kick up the ass you need.”

WHY should I listen to him?
Jacob is a gifted soulster that captures your attention through his graceful vocals and the sentiment he expresses in his songs.

WHEN can I see him live?
“You can see me at Strongroom in Shoreditch on 8th July. Might play some new tunes. Might have a lil boogie. Might even wear a nice shirt, who knows. If you miss that, I’m playing at Brainchild Festival (10-12 July) this year – so much amazing stuff going on there and some great friends playing. Mad excited.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Bandcamp
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Listen to Only Trying to Tell You on Soundcloud

LYRICS Hands are shaking, don’t know why you won’t let me // Come a little closer to you // I’m terrified of the lies I’ve let swim into my head // Sometimes at night I talk to you even though you’re not there // So I whisper to the ground, I’m only trying to tell you, Something babe // Eyes are tearing up, I don’t know why I’m so scared // Something about your beauty terrifies me // Now I’m trembling in an empty bed // Trying to realise that all of you is gone now // So I whisper to the dark, I’m only trying to tell you // Something, yeah // So I whisper to the dark, I’m only trying to tell you,
Something // I’m only trying to tell you something

logo

Leave a Reply

