TRUE ADVENTURES

True Adventures mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I am Samuel Leonard Keith Leonard (that’s not a typo, it’s my real name, it’s partly down to clerical error and partly down to my strange family).

I first started playing music when I lived in Falmouth, a seaside town in Cornwall. It’s a really beautiful and inspiring place to be, it just makes you want to DO something. I’m terrible with a sketchbook, so I started writing. Down in Cornwall, you’re either end up as a radical surf-dude or a sensitive songwriter. I’m not a strong swimmer so I decided to pick up a guitar.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“I’m mostly singing about my aforementioned family of vagrants and vagabonds. They’ve lived pretty bizarre and incredible lives and are a constant source of inspiration (and worry).

My debut single North Atlantic Ocean was written during the mid-twenties-crisis that so many people I know have been through. I was the first person in my family to go to University and thought: “Oh wow this will set me up for life” – I was in for a rude awakening. It’s an anthem for the call-centre generation!”

WHERE is he from?
“I grew up in Birmingham before moving to Cornwall, that was a pretty big contrast. The whole pace of life if different down south, people say hello to you in the street, it was quite bizarre but refreshing.

In the end though, a small town can be pretty claustrophobic, everyone’s got history with everyone else, which is great for writing songs but not so good for being happy.

I live in Norwich now, which is a nice midway point between big city and small town. The music scene here is really good, we’ve had a couple of success stories over the past few years. My friends Port Isla are doing really well and deservedly so, they’re really supportive of what I do. Wooden Arms are an incredible group of musicians and they were kind enough to provide the strings on North Atlantic Ocean, which took the recording to a whole new place.”

True AdventuresWHY ‘True Adventures’?
“I spent soooo long looking for a name, I had a massive list in my phone but they were mostly awful. British Sea Power are one of my favourite bands and I was nostalgically listening to their ‘Open Season’ album when I saw ‘True Adventures’ on the tracklist. I googled it extensively and was shocked to see no-one had used it. Then at my first gig in Norwich someone informed me that there had been a Norwich artist with the same name! Luckily it was before the internet so I think I’m safe!”

WHEN can I see him live?
“I’m playing at Paper Dress Vintage in London on 11th June with a brilliant band called Rebel Kites. After that I’m starting work on my new EP with a tour to follow!”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Watch True Adventures ft. Wooden Arms perform North Atlantic Ocean

logo

Leave a Reply

