MI’DAS

Mi'das by mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I go by the name Mi’das (a shortened version of my real name Mike Davies). I started playing music when i was about 12 years old, first on piano then started singing and eventually took up the guitar and other instruments. I come from a family that has quite a few musicians in it so they’ve all been an influence on my development, especially in the early years.”

WHAT are his musical influences?
“Musically my biggest influences are some of the singer-songwriters of the 60s and 70s such as Joni Mitchell, Bob Dylan, Elton John and the Beatles. Also alongside that I’m always attracted to music that is soulful in some way and a lot of my heroes in that world are Stevie Wonder, Sam Cooke and Ray Charles as well as guitarists such as Stevie Ray Vaughn.”

WHERE did he grow up?
“I grew up in Brighton and it had a good music scene going on there for sure. I studied guitar at college in Brighton too which was a great experience, I still love going back to visit or gig and actually have a studio space there now. Moving to London had a massive effect on me musically, I was thrown into a mixture of things I’d never experienced playing first hand such as gospel music and more Hip Hop styles and EDM. Living in London constantly pushed me to find the best artist I could be.”

Mi'das

WHY should I listen to him?
For his soulful voice and melodies, his expressiveness and heartfelt songwriting.

WHEN can I see him live?
“I’ll be out playing throughout the summer on spot dates and some festivals and will also be starting a UK tour in October, please say hello if you make it to a gig :)”. Check out Mi’das’ upcoming gigs here.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen: Website // Soundcloud // Spotify // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Watch the lyric video for Wish Road

logo

Leave a Reply

