WEINF

Weinf mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook 

WHO is he?
Weinf is 20-year-old singer-songwriter Dani Ruiz who started playing guitar the moment he formed his first band, the Roulotte Roosters, back in 2012. “The band started the day I bought the guitar. I didn’t have a clue how to play, but we worked it out” he recalls.

“As the years passed, I began to have the need to do something else and in the summer of 2014 my solo project was born. I almost randomly selected 4 of my tracks and I recorded them in my room, with a borrowed computer and a borrowed microphone. I borrowed everything. I should change my name to The Borrower.”

He is currently working on new songs he hopes to release very soon, “again borrowing everything.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“I sing about almost everything that crosses my mind. You And I Are Dead is about break-up, The Basement is about the place where a friend and I hang out (his basement, how imaginative). Riding My Bicycle is a weird story I made up and Whiskey is purely about whiskey. It depends very much on my mood and the things going on in my life.”WeinfWHERE is he from?
Weinf is from a city near Barcelona, Spain. “I don’t really think that the place where I live reflects that much on my songs” he tells us. “The musical scene here is a bit messy, and it’s really difficult to get involved. A small number of bands play almost every gig around and almost nobody takes risks bringing new artists to the scene – neither the venues or the press. But I guess this happens everywhere, so I personally don’t blame anyone for this. It’s the artist that has to do something to catch the attention of the public in the first place, has to have something to offer.”

WHY ‘Weinf ‘?
“I really don’t know. It’s a word that I randomly made up a long, long time ago and people called me Weinf since then. I like the name, although it means nothing. Even the pronunciation of it is so disparate from one person to another than I don’t know how to pronounce it anymore!”

WHEN can I see him live?
Hopefully soon! There are no gigs booked at the moment as he is focused on the record right now.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Bandcamp
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter

Watch the video for Whiskey

logo

Leave a Reply

