JACOB M BERRY

Jacob M Berry mystupidsketchbook Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
“I am Jacob M Berry. I was raised by musicians, my mum is a pianist and my dad is a double bass player. They’ve always been very encouraging so I started learning the piano and the guitar when I was very young. I started writing songs when I was 15 and haven’t really wanted to do anything else since.”

After playing in other projects (Dan Croll, Fyfe) Jacob thought it was time to start his own, with a self-released EP on its way. It’s called Tenderness and it’s going to be out soon. “In this project I play everything except the drums, they were played by a very talented musician called Graham Godfrey who also produced the songs on my EP” he tells us.

WHAT is he singing about?
“Lyrically the songs on Tenderness are all to do with intimacy. They cover a fairly tumultuous period of time for me.”

Santa Monica is a love song written for somebody on the other side of the planet. It begins with intimacy, closeness and affection before admitting that Santa Monica is a pretty long way off. It’s dreamy but determined and builds upon itself from a point of initial longing and wistfulness.”(x)

I Admit focuses on the discomfort of trying to tear yourself away from another person and constantly failing to pull free. It’s about giving in to something you know you should avoid.”

“Musically I wanted to create a dreamy sound while including electronic elements. I’d been listening to bands like Beach House and Youth Lagoon as well as an incredible Norwegian band called Angelica’s Elegy. Graham took these ideas on board and helped me find the right sound for the songs.”

Jacob M BerryWHERE is he from?
“I’m originally from Blackburn in Lancashire, England, but since I left my hometown I’ve lived in Liverpool and now London. Liverpool was an incredible place to live, I met so many great musicians when I was studying music at LIPA (Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts) and I go back there as often as I can. Liverpool and London have both shaped me as an artist, but it’s really the people you meet and work with who have an impact on who you are.”

WHY should I listen to him?
With his catchy but never predictable sound, free from any pressure of trendiness, Jacob sets himself apart from your typical singer-songwriter and creates refined and delicate alt-pop tracks that make you yearn for more. We can’t wait for the EP!

WHEN can I see him live?
“I don’t have any gigs booked right now, I’m hoping to start doing that in a few months but right now I’m focusing on getting the songs heard and recording as much as possible.”

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

logo

Leave a Reply

