MACATIER

Macatier instagram.com/mystupidsketchbook/ Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Macatier (pronounced Mac-a-tee-er) is 23-year-old singer-songwriter Dan Brown. He started playing drums at 14 and guitar a year later. “I became obsessed with both pretty quickly” he recalls. “When I moved to University I started playing open mic nights with just a guitar. Like before, I heavily immersed myself in that and it took off from there really.”

His most recent EP ‘This Boat Is Definitely Sinking‘ was self-produced and self-released. “I record and perform nearly all the instruments you hear on my tracks.”

WHAT is he singing about?
“Like most musicians I suppose I write about personal experiences” Dan tells us. “These can range from parties with friends to anxieties and concerns about everyday life. A lot has changed for me personally over the past couple of years too. I received an unwelcome diagnosis and didn’t really know what to make of it. I was trying to make sense of it all in the midst of writing my last EP.”

Tom Read Photography
Tom Read Photography

WHERE is he from?
Dan grew up in a pretty rural area in Surrey, South East of England. “As soon as you hit 16-17 you realise that as pleasant as it is, it’s not the most stimulating place to be. I then moved to Bristol when I was 19 which is when I started releasing my own music. I think that place had a big effect on me.”

WHY ‘Macatier’?
“I thought it was a bit boring and generic to use your own name and I wanted something a bit different!”

WHEN can I see him live?
“I have some festivals and dates coming in for the beginning of the summer and next few months. All announcements will be on my Facebook and Twitter page.” Watch out for that!

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube // Bandcamp
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Tumblr

You can stream/download the EP here.

Watch Macatier perform Swimming To Canada

logo

Leave a Reply

