FRANCES

frances Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is she?
Frances is 21-year-old singer Sophie Frances Cooke who writes and co-produces her own music. She started playing piano and violin at a very young age and began writing songs at thirteen. Her debut single Fire May Save You (2014) was released by Paris music and fashion label Kitsuné. She recently signed to Capitol Records.

I’ve been into music since I was a toddler, there was always music around the house. But I think I fell in love when I started playing the piano. I realised I could start trying to play all the songs I’d loved listening to. – Frances (x)

WHAT is she singing about?
Being young and its pressures, feeling like the world is moving too fast yet the importance of showing determination over struggle.

Fire May Save You is a song about embracing the chaos in order to find some peace. Sometimes it’s less peaceful to avoid the chaos, rather than getting stuck in to move on a bit.” – Frances (x)

A Million Lines was written “at a time when I was feeling particularly young and naive to the fact that the world around me is so huge and I’ve seen so little of it, and also the pressures of being young, in love and chasing adventure all at the same time.” – Frances (x)

frances

WHERE is she from?
Frances is originally from Newbury, Berkshire, England. In 2011 she moved to Liverpool to study music at LIPA, the Liverpool Institute for Performing Arts.

WHY should I listen to her ?
For her reflective, uplifting songwriting style combined with a delicate tone which adds great depth to the songs, all based around her piano playing and voice.

WHEN can I see her live?
Frances takes part in the Communion Presents: New Faces UK tour in April 2015, along with Tenterhook, Freddie Dickson and Charlotte OC. Dates & Tickets here.

HOW can I get to know her better?
Listen & Watch: Spotify // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

Listen to Frances performing Coming Up For Air

logo

One thought on “FRANCES

Leave a Reply

