OSCAR

oscar by http://instagram.com/mystupidsketchbook/

Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
Oscar is ‘melody-maker, mover n shaker’ (as stated in his Twitter bio) Oscar Scheller, a 24-year-old former Central St Martins art college student. The North London baritone is a classically trained songwriter who likes to make guitar pop in his bedroom.

I think having a classical knowledge gives you a respect and appreciation for composition and melody. It gives you an understanding of how music can work. It makes you think laterally and not within genre, but within composition. It allows you to be playful because you know which rules you’re breaking and which ones you’re respecting (x).

The enthusiastic record collector with a Renaissance mentality (that is, in his own words, “appreciating craft and creation in whatever format”(x)) signed to Wichita Recordings in January 2015.

oscar francescajane

WHAT is he singing about?
“How sad and scary life can be, and how beautiful it can be too!” he says (x).

Oscar, who started writing around the age of 13, experienced “a great deal of loss and sadness from a young age. I think that’s probably where the bittersweet nature of my writing comes from. Even if I try to write a happy song, it always come out melancholic in one way or another.”(x)

oscarHis latest single Daffodil Days was inspired by an autocorrect mistake. “It all started out on one of those dark winter evenings, when everything felt wrong. I was having a pretty bad day and as I was texting a friend, the word ‘difficult’ turned to ‘daffodil’ by a stroke of autocorrect genius. It really made me laugh and somehow made a lot of a sense. The song represents that day for me. The melancholy in knowing that it won’t work but that there is always hope and future, of the Daffodil Days ahead. Something which is easily forgotten.” (x)

WHERE is he from?
Oscar is from West Hampstead, an area in North-West London. The city has a big influence on his songwriting. “I think London is the greatest city. There is so much to make me inspired here. Just walking down the street you see twenty things that you could muse on, or that spark an interesting thought. This city has a certain magic that no other does. A rich history too.”(x)

oscar myspace

However, when it comes to community “I have always felt like a bit of an outsider. I’m most definitely not part of any scene. I sometimes wish that wasn’t the case, but as I’m still living at home, I think it’s hard to plug into anything outside of that. There’s definitely that kind of DIY scene in parts of East and South London. I often feel as though I’m missing out, but then maybe that’s part of my creative process. Loneliness and a sense of loss.” (x)

WHY should I listen to him?
“It might just be because the hooks are criminally catchy, but it’s also down to the way that he writes and performs his songs that sets him apart from his peers.” (x) as well as his rich baritone voice which immediately grabs your attention.

Also his Twitter feed is quite an interesting read…

WHEN can I see him live?
He’s heading out on his first UK headline tour in March/April 2015. All dates here.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram // Vine

> Take a tour of London with Oscar
> Read his interview with BEAT
Take a look at his Artworks (sculpture and collage)

Watch Oscar perform Daffodil Days for Sofar London

logo

Leave a Reply

