EAVES

eaves Artwork by @mystupidsketchbook

WHO is he?
EAVES is Leeds based songwriter Joseph Lyons. He is signed to Heavenly Recordings (and has gorgeous long hair)

WHAT is he singing about?
Real life and people, memories, love, death, hope and alcoholism. His songs “mostly come out of poetry and I shape them into songs later” he explains. (x)

Debut EP “As Old As The Grave” (2014) “looks back at where I’m from, I guess you can see your home and the past with more clarity once you’re distanced from it. There’s no way of avoiding being influenced by all your experiences”. (x)

“I always have my notebook with me and write constantly. You can be inspired by everything. It all depends on how you look at things in life. (x)

WHERE is he from?
Joseph grew up in Bolton, a town in Greater Manchester, in the North West of England. He left around the time he started writing music and he’s now based in Leeds.

“I grew up in a town where it’s pretty easy to fall into the pace of the place. A lot of hard working people finish their day with drink and lose some ambition in the process, and before they know it a year has gone by and they’ve rarely left the county. The older I get I start to realise that its not a phenomenon. And more and more I find myself trying to avoid the same trappings. It’s an ancient routine of the working class and I guess it’s pretty hard to shake off. As Old As The Grave touches on that and my own dealings with alcoholism” says Eaves.

EAVES

WHY ‘Eaves’ ?
“It’s a word I stumbled across in a short story by Tom Hardy. Think it’s called ‘The Three Strangers’, I think the line was “the rain dropped from the eaves” or something similar, I thought that sounded beautiful. I changed my name from Injun Joe (Tom Sawyer) to Eaves.” (x)

WHEN can I see him live?
He will be supporting RHODES on his March UK tour. Eaves will also be heading out on tour in the UK & Europe for his first headline shows in May. All dates and tickets here.

HOW can I get to know him better?
Listen & Watch: Spotify // Soundcloud // Youtube
Like & Follow: Facebook // Twitter // Instagram

His debut album “What Green Feels Like” is set to be released 27 April on Heavenly Recordings. It was recorded in late 2014 at Voltaire Road Studios and was produced by Cam Blackwood (London Grammar, George Ezra, Darlia).

> Find out how he got his start in music and why he loves heavy metal band Mastodon
> See how his debut album cover was created.
> Read his interview with Pigeons and Planes
> Eaves talks about the power of the written word to The Line Of Best Fit

Watch Eaves and Nick Mulvey cover beautifully Miss Ohio by Gillian Welch at Machinenhaus, Berlin

Leave a Reply

